Over-Stimulation!

imgres

This post will reveal my tremendous concern with the over use of technology with our youngest learners. It is a concern as a parent and an educator.  This overuse could impact my child’s developing brain and impact the clientele that I work so closely with!

As a mother, I always try to do my best when raising my son. The television is something I control and keep to a minimum. Last year, a fellow educator was talking about technology and television. She said, “Isn’t it amazing how young children (referring to children under the age of 5) know how to turn on the tv, download a game on a phone, unlock iPads and play a show!” Inside my head I said, “Yes, but it is sad! Sad a young child has that much experience using devices they know how to navigate them with such precision!”

I know that technology should has its place, but at this point in a young child’s life it should have a very small place! When my 3 and a 1/2 year old son wants to watch a movie, I always have an internal battle. “If he is watching a movie he is missing out on playing. I can’t let him miss out! Wait! It’s just Aladdian. I should let him! No, I shouldn’t!”  I go back and forth with myself. In the end, my choice is no tv or I allow a short period of time (10-20 minutes). This latest MindShift blog post has me thinking that I did right by not allowing TV time for my son before the age of 2 and affirms that I should continue to keep the screen time to a minimum!

In the article it states, the average preschooler watches 4 and 1/2 hours of televisions a day! As an educator, all the research on technology has me thinking. How does an educator adjust his/her teaching to accommodate for a brain over-stimulated by excessive use of technology?

Here is a link to the MindShift post:

http://blogs.kqed.org/mindshift/2015/02/why-slowing-down-stimuli-to-real-time-helps-a-childs-brain/

Another informative article on technology:

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/cris-rowan/10-reasons-why-handheld-devices-should-be-banned_b_4899218.html

2 thoughts on “Over-Stimulation!

  1. It is terrifying to think that preschool age children are watching TV for 20% to 30% of the day!! And even scarier to read that children that at in at home day cares watch on average 2 hours more!! The experiment with the blocks was very interesting. I wonder how much of the improvement had to do with the blocks versus the directions that were provided on how to play with the blocks. We see so many children nowadays with language weaknesses. How much of this is connected to the decline in interactive language activities in the home, like playing with blocks?

    • This quote comes from Chris Rowen (2010) in the Huffington Post, “A 2010 Kaiser Foundation study showed that elementary aged children use on average 7.5 hours per day of entertainment technology, 75 percent of these children have TV’s in their bedrooms, and 50 percent of North American homes have the TV on all day. Gone is dining room table conversation, replaced by the “big screen” and take out.” Besides the conversation being replaced, so is creativity and imaginations, sensory and motor development! All these developmental milestones are being replace by the over-use of technology. When you really stop to think about it, this impacts our jobs in every aspect!

Leave a Reply

